Design a site like this with
Get started

3 Types of Awareness

Awareness is the state of mind in which one is consciously mindful of his or her physical body, mental states, circumstances, climate, and conditions. Here, to recognize and realize our own state, we will look at three types of awareness.

Awareness of Object

The first kind of Awareness is to be aware of your thoughts. One has to be watchful about thought, memories, opinions, facts, and dreams. Krishnamurti’s “choiceless awareness” discusses this kind of awareness. It says not to choose your thoughts, opinions, and judgements of anything around you or related to you. It means just to be watchful of whatever things occurring to you. Thoughts appears and disappears, it will lose its meaning when we don’t pay enough attention to it. The bridge from memory to non-memory is awareness one.

Awareness of Object and Subject

In this awareness, you become attentive to both thought & thinkers, perceiver & perception, belief & believer. The consciousness is focused upon both the subject and object. Gurdjieff work is totally upon this kind of awareness. In this process, you separate the “I” from your actual identity. You don’t assume “I” as your permanent and real nature. For example, when you think about your childhood, you focus on both childhood memories and yours process of recall i.e., act of an “I” to recall the past life. Gurdjieff calls this process as “self-remembering”. It is the bridge from non-memory to un-origination.

No object and Subject-only pure awareness

This is the stage of no-mind. You reach at the complete state of alertness. There is neither the thoughts of objects nor the thoughts of subjects. There is just pure awareness. In this awareness, you drop all concentration, focus, and attention. You are just alert of situation and in a state of complete mindfulness. This is a state of fully developed consciousness. In a stage of meditation, a person has to cross this last stage to undergo transcendental experiences.

I hope you enjoyed reading the types of awareness. In any case, you need to know more, you are free to comment. Thanks for reading!

Reference: Book Osho ‘Tantric Transformation- when Love meets meditation’ Tantra vision

Author: Madhvi

A philosopher, Writer, Traveler, PhD Scholar, Vegan and pet-lover.

2 thoughts on “3 Types of Awareness”

  1. Osho mentioned somewhere that the three types are 1) Awareness of Body (object) , 2) Mind (thought object and subject’s thoughts about it) and 3) Heart or emotions and fourth is Turiya.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: